Next Book

I am searching for a new book to read.  The last five books I have read have been incredible, but its time for some fiction.  My last five books include

 

  1. The Great Awakening: Reviving Faith and Politics in a Post-Religious Right America by Jim Wallis
  2. The Hidden Power of Electronic Culture: How Media Shapes Faith, The Gospel, and Church by Shane Hipps
  3. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Make a Big Difference by Malcolm Gladwell
  4. unChristian by Dave Kinnamen and Gabe Lyons
  5. Everything Must Change by Brian McLaren

All four of these books are very good, and I plan on writing reviews for them later, but for now, I need a break.  I am a bit saturated by the message in each.  I need a good fiction book.  Here is a list of the fiction books that I am considering.

 

  1. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  2. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  3. A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby

 

I have Kite Runner and A Long Way Down, but A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is the most intriguing to me right now.  I love fiction books that have broken characters trying make sense out of our broken world.  Some of my favorite fiction authors include John Irving, John Updike, Kurt Vonnegut, and Graham Greene.  I need to find something new, something fresh, something interesting.

 

Any comments on my fiction list?  

 

Any other suggestions?

7 Comments

Filed under Books

7 responses to “Next Book

  1. I have a whole different (mom/ space/ heaven- centered) stack on my nightstand. I’m reading First Man by James Hansen- autobiography of Neil Armstrong, 90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper and The Blessing of a Skinned Knee- raising children based on Jewish teachings (yes, I know I’m not Jewish).
    I haven’t read any of those on your list, but have heard good things about Kite Runner and Nick Hornby (don’t know about that book). I could just go to B&N and live there, I think. Wouldn’t that be great? I think that’s the only way I’d have time to actually read one of these books uninterupted!

  2. Sherill

    Read Kite Runner and then read 1000 Splendid Suns. They both definitely fit your criteria. I also recommend “the Shack.” And in the non-fiction area (a bio), you might enjoy “Take this Bread” by Sara Miles. Both The Shack and Take This Bread are challenging–not that I agree with all of what they believe but it does give you a new and fresh way of looking at things and asks some pretty hard quesitons of the faith–while still being enjoyable reads!

  3. I agree with Sherrill, Kite Runner is great, but Thousand Splendid Suns is even better!

  4. Jon

    Kite Runner. Hosseini has some John Irving (my favorite) vibe going in this book. I’ve been on an old school kick this summer. To Kill a Mockingbird and In Cold Blood. Both great.

  5. You better get something up here about your news story! With the link that I just used and all…
    Not a bad story!

  6. poppi (younger mother!)

    LTL –
    Poppi’s suggestion is to put “MiddleSex” at the top of your precipitous reading stack. (She knows what Larry’s desk really does look like – his blog title “From the Stacks on My Desk” is VERY fitting!!)

    Beginning with the first sentence to the last, the story of the life and liberation of Cal is facinating, as is the author’s amazing writing technique as he wove the stories of 3 generations of the family on two continents to explain to the reader how Cal came to couragelously reject his parents’, the medical community’s, and society’s prescription to surgically decide his gender for him as a young teen. “MiddleSex” is a poingnant tale of Cal’s self-acceptance (is that not the life journey we are all trekking along?), while educating readers with honesty and integrity of the struggles of the 1 in 2000 persons who are born intersexual.

    Eugenides, in my opinion absolutely merits the Pulitzer Prize he was awarded for “MiddleSex”, as his story challenges us to live with minds and hearts wide open, accepting of the realities of life for those who don’t fit in our culture’s very limiting ‘boxes’ in which it wants to file people -and in some way or another, that includes all of us!

  7. Biddie

    Loved your story!!! I would definitely read Kite Runner!! Great book!!!

Leave a Reply

